At the end of every project, we are always eager to clean and create room for new tasks. However, due to a mouse slip or the excitement of completing a project, we may end up deleting things that we still need from our resources. One thing that is commonly deleted accidentally is the postman collection. If you ever find yourself in such a situation, don’t panic as you can recover a lost or deleted postman collection in a few steps. Read through to understand how you can restore a deleted postman collection.
- 1 Two Ways to Recover Lost or Deleted Postman Collection
- 2 How do you Export Postman Collection to OpenAPI after recovery?
- 3 Conclusion
Two Ways to Recover Lost or Deleted Postman Collection
The method you use to recover a collection will depend on whether you actually deleted it or just removed it from your workspace.
1. Recovering Deleted Collections
Deleted postman collections are saved in the Postman’s “Trash.” So, to recover them, you’ll have to follow these steps.
Go to your Postman’s dashboard to access deleted collections.
Click on the arrow next to the workspace name and then navigate to the “All Workspaces” icon in the dropdown menu.
Go to “Trash” once you are on the dashboard.
On your dashboard, hit the avatar icon on the top-right corner, and then select “Trash” from the dropdown menu.
Choose the collection you want to recover from the trash.
Once you open the trash box, you’ll see a list of all collections that have been deleted. You’ll just need to select the folder you need to recover and hit the restore button on the far-right.
Remember, you have to specify where you want the document to appear once it is recovered.
It is also vitally essential to understand that the Postman plan you are on determines how long the deleted collections will stay in Postman trash.
- If you are using a free account, the collection stays in the trash for a day.
- For those using team accounts, you have 30 days to recover your collections.
- If you are on an enterprise or business plan, collections stay 90 days in the trash.
At times, you might accidentally remove a collection from your workspace without necessarily deleting it. If this is the case, you will not be able to recover it from the trash. You’ll have to use the second recovery option.
2. Recovering Moved or Lost Collection from Postman
This method is easy and straightforward since the collections are still saved somewhere in the Postman app. These are the steps you’ll need to follow to recover your collections:
- Navigate to Postman’s web dashboard.
- Select “View All Collections.” Here you will see a list of all your collections.
- Check to see if the collection you’re looking for is in the list.
- Click “Share” and select the workspace where you want the collection to be saved.
Once you hit the share button, the postman collection will automatically be moved to your preferred destination.
How do you Export Postman Collection to OpenAPI after recovery?
- Click “Upload Postman Collection”
- Fill out some basic information
- Upload your Postman Collection
- Click “Convert to OpenAPI”
If you have ever lost important data with your postman collection because you did know how to recover it, this article will ensure that you don’t have to repeat the same mistake once again. Once you determine whether your document was deleted or moved, you can go ahead to use any of the methods discussed in this piece to recover it. But remember, recovery will depend on the Postman plan you are using, in the case of deleted collections.